Skip to main content

Adventure in art theory with Dr Sándor Kovács

By 2024.02.20.No Comments

It is the third time that the Department of Art Theory at the Hungarian Dance University (HDU) will organise an art lecture entitled “Adventures in Art Theory”. This time, Dr Sándor Kovács, Professor Emeritus of the Liszt Ferenc University will hold a lecture on the work of the French Six.

The French Six was officially formed in January 1920. The group’s name was given by the music critic and composer Henri Collet, who first used the term “French Six “in the journal Comœdia. Although Jean Cocteau was certainly behind the articles, the name Les Six (The Six) was given by Collet following the formation of “The Russian Five”.

In addition to the work of the group that included Georges Auric, Louis Durey, Arthur Honegger, Darius Milhaud, Francis Poulenc and the only female composer, Germaine Tailleferre, Sándor Kovács points out Erik Satie’s role played in the creation of the group of composers, who, along with Milhaud and Poulenc, also played a significant role in the history of dance and music in 20th century France.

The lecture will start at 3:30pm on 1 March 2024 at the ifj. Nagy Zoltán theatre hall.

All welcome.


Skip to content